1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Visitor Visa Rejection And Next Steps For B & H1

Discussion in 'Nonimmigrant Visa Applications Generally' started by piyu7444, Sep 20, 2015.

1. piyu7444

piyu7444 Senior Member

Hello Ron

My younger brother has applied for US Visitor Visa twice and has been rejected. I am a permanent resident and my sister is a US Citizen. The first time he applied was in 2009 when he was single and had a job in India. He was told that "Currently we are not giving visa to people of your age group" and was handed over a generic FAQ document.

In 2014 he applied to visit USA to attend the Youth peace ambassador program which is run by the American University of Sovereign Nations. He was told that " "You don't seem to have any experience/qualification to be going to attend the Youth Peace Ambassador program"

We really want him to visit us on a visitor visa (my family and my sister's family) so what is the best way to approach this? Shall my sister send letter of invitation and send some sort of communication that we will ensure that he returns after his trip around thanksgiving/xmas?

Also he had applied for a h1b visa through a US firm in 2012 which was approved but he never tried to come here to work so did not try to get stamping. Now I have a thought that he shall come and visit us this year (assuming he gets the visa) and then next year apply for h1b so he can come here and work and be unite the family. For the h1b will he be counted in quota or he can apply anytime as he had an approved petition which we never used?

Thank you

PS: My two questions are in bold.

2. Ron Gotcher

Ron Gotcher Attorney at Law

He is likely going to be considered as someone who will use a B visa to get into the country and then change status to something else. Unless and until he can overcome that presumption, he is not going to get a B visa.

3. piyu7444

piyu7444 Senior Member