1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Starting a LLC while on EAD

Discussion in 'Start up company issues' started by jag71, Jan 21, 2010.

1. jag71

jag71 Junior Member

Ron-

I would like to know if I can start my own company (LLC). Here is my current situation - My wife and me are on EAD. We filed for our I-485 in July 2007 and still waiting for visa numbers to be current. Also, I have H1-B from my current employer. Because of the economic situation, it is most likely that my current employer may go out of business. I work in a specialized field and I may not be able to find a new employer easily. However, I do have few clients, who would like to obtain services from me. So, I plan on quitting my job (or when the company shuts down) and start my own. I have following questions and appreciate your response, at your convenience.

1. Would it be of any benefit for my wife to own the new company and I work as an employee?
    2. Would you recommend, both owning a company or just my self?
    3. Either way, how do we take care of AC21 or I-485 application?
    4. If I work as an employee or a owner, the job I will be performing is similar to what is in my green card application.

Thanks

Jag

2. Ron Gotcher

Ron Gotcher Attorney at Law

Re: Starting a LLC while on EAD

There are two issues present in your question: (1) Are you allowed to set up and operate your own company; and, (2) will working for that company allow you to remain eligible for adjustment of status. The answer to both is yes. Anyone may set up or own a company in the United States. You may not work for your company, however, unless you have employment authorization that allows you to do so. In your case, you have an EAD that gives you unrestricted employment authorization, so it is very clear that you may work for your company.