1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Soon to possess H1-B and marrying US citizen

Discussion in 'College and University Faculty' started by alex24, Mar 6, 2013.

1. alex24

alex24 Junior Member

I will be very grateful for any advice/thoughts on my situation.

I am a UK citizen currently resident in the UK. I am engaged to a US citizen and due to marry in the US this coming July.

In the last few weeks I have been offered a university faculty position in the US, which starts in August of this year. The university employing me is slowly beginning the H1-B visa process.

I will enter the US at the beginning of July (hopefully on my H1-B status) to marry and then begin employment.

Is it necessary for myself or my fiancee to be completing any marriage-based immigration paperwork? Is it necessary for me to identify myself as soon to be married to a US citizen when completing the H1-B process?

Many thanks

Alex

2. futureeb2

futureeb2 Member

Re: Soon to possess H1-B and marrying US citizen

Yes, you will have to identify your fiancee in the form DS-160 when applying for a nonimmigrant visa.

The H1B "paperwork" has two steps: first, your future employer will file an I-129 "petition". This form does not ask any questions about whether you are engaged or not.

Once the I-129 is approved, YOU will have to fill the online form DS-160 to apply for a visa. (A visa is not the same as a petition. The visa is the document that you carry in your passport and that allows you to apply for admission as an H1B nonimmigrant). Now, the DS-160 has the following question: Do you have any immediate relatives, not including parents, in the United States? It then defines immediate relatives as: "Means fiancé/fiancée, spouse (husband/wife), child (son/daughter), or sibling (brother/sister)." Here you answer "yes" and give his/her name.

Once in the US and married, you can, if you so choose, apply for a green card.