1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

L1B to H1B transfer( serving notice period)

Discussion in 'Non-working nonimmigrant issues' started by monty_singh, Jun 5, 2011.

1. monty_singh

monty_singh Junior Member

Hello Folks,
    I require very urgent suggestions to one of my problems...
    Your help would be highly appreciated..

I have been working for a consultancy firm for around 4 years and now on L1B visa working for an US client...
    I have plans to switch my visa Status from L1B to H1B. My current L1B expiry has still some time(Jan 2013) and i have been working in USA for past one and half years(multiple clients).
    Fortunately, I have sponsors who are ready to file for my H1B who are ready to start the processing asap so that I can get the H1B status in this October 2011.
    But the major concern is as below

My current employer who had filed my L1B has a resignation notice period of 3 months which I may/may not(not sure) need to serve in my home country. I wish to serve that tenure as I would surely require my experience and relieving letters as I was with the firm for past 4 years.
    So my question are as follows
    1. When should I resign from my current employer so that i could serve my notice period of 3 months even if I need to go back to my home country during H1B transfer process.
    2. What complications may occur in my H1B filing and stamping processes if i have to serve my notice period in my home country during the H1B transfer processes.
    3. What would be the difference of me being in US during H1B transfer processes and me being in my home country serving my notice period.
    4. Till what time I can work in US with my L1B Status for my current employer, which means that can I hold two visas for a certain amount of time.

Eagerly waiting replies on my concern.
    I would be highly obliged

Thanks
    Monty

2. Ron Gotcher

Ron Gotcher Attorney at Law