1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

L1a To Out-of-cap H1b

Discussion in 'Nonimmigrant Visa Validity' started by VSK, Sep 16, 2014.

1. VSK

VSK New Member

Hi,
    I was in US for 4 years from 2005 to 2009 on H1B.
    I went back to my home country and stayed there till 2012.
    I came back to US on L1A (i have a total of 17 years of experience) and have been here from July 2012 onwards. My current employer may not process my GC.
    Questions:
    - Can I shift from L1A to H1B - does my current employer need to know when the change of status is applied for by my prospective employer?
    - Can I reclaim my 2 years of unused H1B visa as out-of-cap now? Or does a fresh out-of-cap 6 years start since I was away for > 1 year outside of US?
    - Can I also get a fresh H1B application going while I am on the old H1B?
    - How long can I stay on H1-B in US now? What will it take to help me continue to stay and work here - a GC process to be started by my new employer? At what point am I 'safe' and how long does that take?

Thanks a ton for your help!

2. Ron Gotcher

Ron Gotcher Attorney at Law

You are subject to the cap. Your L time will count against your six years of H1B.

3. VSK

VSK New Member

Ron,
    I was told that since I spent 1 year outside of the US, I will be able to get back the previous 'unused' time on H1B. Isnt that true?

4. Ron Gotcher

Yes it is. When you returned, you were entitled to a new six year H interval. The law provides that all time spent in L status, however, must be counted against the maximum period of H stay.

5. VSK

VSK New Member

Thanks Ron - I am still a little confused, so let me ask this differently.
    1. Can I now get a simple change of status from L1A to H1B with a new employer and start working immediately on H1B OR do I need to wait for a new H1B and can hence work only from Oct, 2015?