1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education evaluation for I140

Discussion in 'I-140 petitions' started by eb3eb2user, Mar 20, 2012.

1. eb3eb2user

eb3eb2user Member

Hi Ron - I had a question about my educational evaluation. I have a 3 yrs bachelors in computers ( 1995-1998) followed by a 3 years masters in computer applications (1998-2001). My educational evaluation was performed which states that along with my masters my degrees are equivalent to US bachelors + masters in computer science.

Questions :
    1 . Will USCIS treat my degree as :

bachelors (1995-1998) + 1year od masters (1998-1999) = US bachelors
    2 years of masters (1999-2001) = US masters ?

2. Secondly can any relevant experience gained during masters in 2001 be counted as post bachelors experience for EB2 I140 purpose . The job requirement needs bachelors + 5 years of relevant experience. ?

I will really appreciate if you could please answer my question.

Thanks much in advance!!!

2. Ron Gotcher

Ron Gotcher Attorney at Law

Re: Education evaluation for I140

The USCIS has been pretty good about accepting an India 3+3 combination as the equivalent of a U.S. master's degree.

3. eb3eb2user

eb3eb2user Member

Hi Ron - Thanks much!!! In my case , can USCIS consider the work experience gained during masters ( in 2001) as post bachelors experience ?

Thanks in advance.

4. Ron Gotcher

It's hard to say. They won't consider a three year degree as a U.S. bachelor's equivalent, so it would have to be after the first year of the master's program. Why do you need post-bachelor's degree experience if you have a master's?

5. eb3eb2user

eb3eb2user Member

Hi Ron - It's because the job requirement in PERM says Bachelors in computers + 5 years experience. I am falling short of 5 years by 1 month if the experience is considered after masters but before joining my current company in 2006.